What Writers Read: Yolanda Ridge

What do children’s writers and illustrators read in their spare time? In this series of interviews with B.C. book folks, we discuss everything from guilty reading pleasures to the best literary villains. If you’d like to share some favourites of your own, please leave a comment!

Yolanda Ridge

What books are on your end table right now?
Hold On to your Kids by Gordon Neufled and Gabor Mate; Burn by Alma Fullerton; Dear George Clooney Please Marry My Mom by Susin Nielsen; A Long Way Down by Nick Hornby. I own the last one (bought it second hand). The rest are borrowed either from the library or a friend.

yolandaridge

Who’s your favourite author of all time?
It’s impossible to pick one, but my childhood favourite is definitely Judy Blume.

Where is the best place to curl up with a good book?
I don’t have much time to curl up with a book so I read whenever and wherever I get a chance. I’ve even been caught reading in the post office!

Which is best: hardcover, softcover, or e-book?
I can’t decide. I love cracking open a brand new hardcover but I find a well loved paper back much more light and friendly. Haven’t tried e-books yet, but I like the idea of being able to carry around a whole library!

What series did you read growing up?
Little House on the Prairie and Nancy Drew.

Are you more likely to be caught reading a zombie novel or a sentimental romance?
Sentimental romance. I will confess that I spent at least one of my teenaged years in the company of Daniel Steele.

To learn more about Yolanda and her work, please visit her website.
This entry was posted in just for fun, What Writers/Illustrators Read and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

