Crow Medicine

Last night I went to a book launch for Diane Haynes‘ new book, Crow Medicine.

As promised, here are a few pictures of Diane Hayne’s launch of Crow Medicine:

Me with the author

This is me with the author herself!

Diane Telling the crowd how she came to write Crow Medicine

Here’s Diane telling the crowd how she came to write Crow Medicine.

Me with illustrator Cynthia Nugent

A shot of the crowd. That’s me talking with Cynthia Nugent.

I like going to these launches because: a) it give me a chance to meet the author (although in this case I knew Diane already), b) it gives me good karma for my own launches, c) well, darn it,sometimes they’re fun, and d) you never know who you might meet.

Let’s start with:

Meet the Author

Diane is a soft-spoken person with a sharp mind and a good heart. She’s using her writing as a way of teaching children to respect their environment, and to encourage people to donate to a scholarship fund that she’s started at UBC. She’s an inspiration and a wonder to see in person!

Gives me Good Karma

If one doesn’t attend booklaunches, one shouldn’t expect others to attend theirs. I think this goes with every thing in life. If you want people to show an interest in the things you do, you have to show an interest in the things others do! If you don’t, sooner or later you wind up performing to an empty room.

Well, Darn It, Sometimes They’re Fun

And this one was. It was in a building in Gastown, Vancouver, overlooking the water and North Vancouver lights. There were goodies … and lots of ’em! I met up with Jacquie Pearce and her family, and, as well, the illustrator Cynthia Nugent (who’s dog spent a week with Conan, my dog, last summer). It was one of those nights that just flew by.

You Never Know Who You Might Meet

Ahhh, the ugly “N” word. I hate networking. Meeting people because it might improve your career just seems so, well, artificial and creepy to me. But we have to do it. And while I didn’t meet any business contacts last night I have in the past. As a matter of fact, I know one person who attended my last booklaunch, pitched my publisher, and will now have his first book out some time this year!

….

About jamesmccann

I grew up a reluctant reader, which basically means that adults thought I hated reading. Actually, though, I loved reading. I just didn't like the kind of books that adults thought I should like. I mostly read comics, and, thanks to a 3 day bus ride from Winnipeg to Kelowna that my family took every summer, I read dozens of comics. As a teen I became involved in Dungeons and Dragons, which gave me the tools necessary for story-telling. I used maps and pictures as a source of inspiration; a technique I still use today. From this I discovered a love for reading, and devoured everything fantasy. Now a resident of Vancouver, I write novels for teens. In 2005 I took on the role of VP for CWILLBC (Children's Writers and Illustrators of BC), and in 2006 I became their President. I'm still best known for my popular map-making workshop, and secondly for my ability to change reluctant readers into avid readers. My work can be seen in the Canadian Children's Book News, and on the shelves of bookstores in Canada, the US and Australia.
This entry was posted in book launches. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

