The Tuesday Tell-All

At our Tuesday Tell-All, CWILL BC members answer questions about their lives, their work, and their interests. Members with their own blogs post links to their sites. Others answer directly in the comments section.

If you’d like to contribute, even if you’re not a CWILL BC member, please feel free to post a comment (or suggest a future question!). We’d love to hear your thoughts.

This week’s question:
What do you listen to while you work? Music? Something else? Or do you prefer silence?

This entry was posted in just for fun, Tuesday Tell-All, writing process. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The Tuesday Tell-All

  1. I like to listen to music while I write, but it generally has to be wordless. So classical music or movie soundtracks work best for me.

  2. Karen Autio says:

    While I’m writing I prefer silence or, come spring, birdsong from my open office window.

  3. Ditto for me with silence and birdsong. When I was a teenager I used to do homework while listening to music, but I can’t do that any more. When I’m really involved in writing, I can block out unwanted sounds, but usually sounds distract me. Background noise at a Starbucks might be okay, though.

  4. kcdyer says:

    Me? I’m all over the map. Sometimes I write to music, sometimes I listen to CBC or a podcast of choice, and sometimes only to the sound of my own voice, chatting with my computer…

    ~kc
    also blogging as leftwriter

  5. Tanya Kyi says:

    I like to write to a combination of Fallout 3 gunfire and accordion music. You can read the whole story here:

    http://tanyalloydkyi.blogspot.com/2008/12/noise-in-my-head.html

  6. kirsti says:

    I’m fond of mostly spoken podcasts when I’m illustrating. I need something a little more weighty than just music to anchor down the part of my brain that likes to wander off while I’m working. Mostly it’s CBC podcasts – Quirks and Quarks, Q, Spark, Search Engine, Radio 3. I was on a current events kick a while back so I consumed a lot of As It Happens. It gave me a little perspective after being locked in the studio for so long.
    This American Life and the illustrator interviews on Just One More Book are also favourites.

    I know I’ve been putting in too many work hours when I’ve run out of new podcasts issues.

  7. LoisP says:

    If I listen to anything, it’s CBCS Radion Two classical through my computer. But once it starts cutting out (I haven’t figured out what it does that) I turn it off.

    Then I can work through almost anything except my husband coming in and shuffling around the study in the background. At which point I either ask him if he REALLY needs to be here right now, yell at him, or quit. (We used to each have our own studies. Now we don’t.)

Leave a Reply

