The Tuesday Tell-All

At our Tuesday Tell-All, CWILL BC members answer questions about their lives, their work, and their interests. Members with their own blogs post links to their sites. Others answer directly in the comments section.

If you’d like to contribute, even if you’re not a CWILL BC member, please feel free to post a comment (or suggest a future question!). We’d love to hear your thoughts.

This week’s question:
What are you reading over the holidays?

books

(Question and photo courtesy of Jacqueline Pearce)

This entry was posted in just for fun, Tuesday Tell-All. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Tuesday Tell-All

  1. I’m just finishing Sue Grafton’s T is for Trespass, and will soon begin a book that Cynthia Nugent lent me: Tales from the House of Bunnicula: Screaming Mummies of the Pharoah’s Tomb II, by James Howe. I know it will be good. Cynthia and I have a similar sense of humour – somewhat offbeat!

  2. I thought Bunnicula was hilarious when I first read it! Right now I’m reading “The Blue Girl” by Charles de Lint (YA urban fantasy) and “I will ask for Birds” by Kelly Parsons (poetry). What comes next, depends on what I get for Christmas…

  3. As reading over Christmas is my family Christmas – and there have been lots of white reasons to stay home over the past few days – I’ve had a chance to catch up on a whole bunch of good books this week.
    1. David Almond’s The Fire-Eaters, and Skellig (this one for the second time.) DA’s work reminds me of Alice Hoffman’s adult novels – gritty human situations with a little bit of the supernatural gnawing at the edges. I’ve now ordered three more of his books from the library and hope the snow will clear soon so I can trudge down the road to pick them up.
    2. Ann Patchett’s ‘Run’ – AP is a master of characterization, and I felt bereft when I came to the end of Tip, Teddy, Tennessee, Doyle, Sullivan and Kenya’s stories.
    3. Deborah Ellis’s The Heaven Shop.
    DE’s books always introduce me to children in different parts of the world whose stories not only reveal something about the predicament in their country, but also show real young heros making their own way through hard times. I’m always inspired and moved by the end of the story.

    Those are just a few of the books I’ve been reading this week, while on the side I’ve been compiling a list of 52 kids’ books (one a week) I plan to read in 2009.

  4. Linda Bailey says:

    This year I got (almost) all books as Christmas gifts. Thank you, Santa. Perfect!

    I’ll mention three. Eva Ibbotson’s The Dragonfly Pool. I’m a big fan of EI, who recently turned 80 and who is best known probably for Journey to the River Sea. She always creates a “world,” and this one is full of gentle charm.

    Dreams from My Father by president-elect Barack Obama. Autobiographical and — no surprise — he can write!

    Mister Pip by Lloyd Jones. I haven’t yet had the pleasure, but I’m looking forward to it. An adult book with a child’s point of view, set in the South Pacific and built around a reading of Dickens’s Great Expectations. A Man Booker finalist.

    One more. Bud Not Buddy by Christopher Curtis. GREAT!

Leave a Reply

