The Tuesday Tell-All

At our Tuesday Tell-All, CWILL BC members answer questions about their lives, their work, and their interests. Members with their own blogs post links to their sites. Others answer directly in the comments section.

If you’d like to contribute, even if you’re not a CWILL BC member, please feel free to post a comment (or suggest a future question!). We’d love to hear your thoughts.

This week’s question:
As a student or in the early stages of your career, did you have a mentor who encouraged you?

This entry was posted in just for fun, Tuesday Tell-All. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Tuesday Tell-All

  1. Yes! In addition to teachers throughout elementary and high school, I had a mentor who pushed me, as an adult, to take the terribly scary step of trying to get my writing published.

    My mentor challenged me to go with him to the Book Expo America, which that particular year was in Chicago. So I toted my manuscript there and shopped it around the floor, all the while wearing a wizard’s hat, just so that I would stand out from the crowd. I ended up getting my first contract at that conference–and that would have never happened without my mentor’s strong, swift kick in the backside.

    These days, the wizard’s hat is part of my regular routine when I visit schools–but what most people don’t know is the history behind it.

  2. Shelley says:

    I didn’t have a mentor. I just liked to write so kept at it until (many rejection letters later) I received a contract.

    The advice I give new writers is this:
    Love the writing
    Love the writing
    Love the writing
    All else will follow.

    It worked for me!

  3. What a great Tuesday Tell All question!
    I have so many memories of wonderful people along the way of my life path. But I focused on a grade four teacher who touched my heart. I posted my thoughts on my blog along with a couple of drawings.

    http://maplepancakes.blogspot.com/

  4. Joan Betty Stuchner says:

    I grew up in Yorkshire during the 1950s. Not much encouragement to be found up North in those days – but one of my teachers, Miss Rafferty, praised my poetry and published one of my poems in a school magazine. I informed my mother I wanted to be a poet when I grew up. The blood drained from her face. ‘You can’t earn much of a living doing that,’ she said. She wanted me to become a nurse. There are thousands of people alive today because I did not fulfill her dreams for me. But to give her credit, she and my dad were always reading to me, telling me stories and taking me to the library, the park, for walks in the woods etc. There were also visits to eccentric relatives. All inspiring stuff to a budding writer.

Leave a Reply

