The Tuesday Tell-All

At our Tuesday Tell-All, CWILL BC members answer questions about their lives, their work, and their interests. Members with their own blogs post links to their sites. Others answer directly in the comments section.

If you’d like to contribute, even if you’re not a CWILL BC member, please feel free to post a comment (or suggest a future question!). We’d love to hear your thoughts.

This week’s question:
How would you finish this sentence, if you were writing the the opening scene of a novel?
“I had just slammed the door, when…”

This entry was posted in just for fun, Tuesday Tell-All. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to The Tuesday Tell-All

  1. tanyakyi says:

    Okay, this was difficult. Who thought of such a ridiculous line, anyway? And shouldn’t novels begin with doors opening, not slamming?

    My attempts are on my blog:

    http://tanyalloydkyi.blogspot.com/2009/01/tuesday-tell-all_20.html

  2. …I heard my mother gasp in the kitchen, “My soufflé!”
    So much for my sympathetic audience.

  3. I answered this and had fun with it until I realized I didn’t quite follow directions. This is so like me to mess up. When will I ever get it right? But I had fun.

    My version is posted on my blog.
    http://maplepancakes.blogspot.com/

  4. Joan Betty Stuchner says:

    I had just slammed the door, when I noticed Norris’s head rolling towards the television set. Proof, yet again, that our floors are uneven.
    Too late I recalled Norris’ frequent admonishment. “If you keep slamming that door without paying attention, one day something terrible will happen.” He was right – or is it ‘he was correct?’ I’m always confused about that, and it irks me. Grammar is so important, don’t you think. As is paying attention when slamming doors.
    I must admit his expression right now is not as pensive as it was when his head was attached to his body – which, I suppose, must be outside the door.It reminds me of those open casket funerals where everyone says, “Ooh, doesn’t he look peaceful.” I always want to say, “Well of course he does. He’s dead. How much more peaceful can you get?” But you can’t really do that at funerals, can you? Make a scene, I mean. It’s hardly tactful.
    Well, I suppose I’d better get a mop and bucket. Make a nice, hot cup of tea, and then call the police. They’ll be very cross with me.
    * (Not suitable for impressionable children)

  5. tanyakyi says:

    Oh my goodness, I am HOWLING.

  6. What an interesting group!

    I came across the cbc’s writing contest today and I just have to mention it because I know any one of you could win the next contest with your wit and sense of fun.
    Just in case…

    http://www.cbc.ca/canadawrites/practice.html

  7. Pingback: Tuesday Tell-All answer « My Secret Elephant

Leave a Reply

