The Tuesday Tell-All

At our Tuesday Tell-All, CWILL BC members answer questions about their lives, their work, and their interests. Members with their own blogs post links to their sites. Others answer directly in the comments section.

If you’d like to contribute, even if you’re not a CWILL BC member, please feel free to post a comment (or suggest a future question!). We’d love to hear your thoughts.

This week’s question is from Shelley Hrdlitschka. She asks: What is the first book that turned you into a reader?

This entry was posted in just for fun, Tuesday Tell-All. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Tuesday Tell-All

  1. Joan Betty Stuchner says:

    Like most of you I demanded the same story every night until I’d memorized it. In my case it was ‘Noddy in Toyland’ by Enid Blyton. Contrary to popular belief, and studies done by brain surgeons – studies not done on ME – I have vivid memories that go back to my crib days. I remember my father reading to me, and laughing when I filled in the paragraph he’d deliberately skipped over – because he wanted to hasten my bedtime.
    I entered Toyland. I took rides in Noddy’s taxi, and I made friends with all the characters in the stories.
    I know that poor old Enid wasn’t a great writer, and that she wasn’t exactly racially enlightened, but her narrow mindedness didn’t influence me – just the world of Toyland. It was so colourful. I always longed to see different worlds. For at least a few moments leave behind the gray street on which I lived. On the end papers of the Noddy series there’s a scene with a little blue pond. I loved to imagine sailing a toy boat on that pond.
    After Enid there was Rupert’s Annual and the Mabel Lucie Atwell Annuals. Fantasy and Fairyland … Mmmm.
    Maybe you had to grow up in Leeds to appreciate my longing for another world!

  2. tanyakyi says:

    Okay, I’m a day late. But my post about primary school meditation and Little House on the Prairie is here:

    http://tanyalloydkyi.blogspot.com/2009/03/wednesday-tell-all.html

  3. Shelley says:

    It was definitely Harriet the Spy for me!

  4. The first book I remember picking out for myself was “The Wednesday Witch” by Ruth Chew (about a witch who flew on a vacuum cleaner — something I wished I could do). To be honest, it was probably the Nancy Drew mysteries that first hooked me on reading, then L. M. Montgomery’s “Emily Climbs” series and C.S. Lewis’ “Narnia Chronicles” reeled me in!

Leave a Reply

