The Tuesday Tell-All

At our Tuesday Tell-All, CWILL BC members answer questions about their lives, their work, and their interests. Members with their own blogs post links to their sites. Others answer directly in the comments section.

If you’d like to contribute, even if you’re not a CWILL BC member, please feel free to post a comment (or suggest a future question!). We’d love to hear your thoughts.

This week’s question, in honor of National Poetry Month:
Do you have a favorite poem or poet?

This entry was posted in just for fun, Tuesday Tell-All. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Tuesday Tell-All

  1. I have many favourite poems, but one that strikes me today, as the spring sun streams through my office window, is the lovely poem, “Daffodils,” penned by William Wordsworth, in 1804.

    Daffodils

    I WANDER’D lonely as a cloud
    That floats on high o’er vales and hills,
    When all at once I saw a crowd,
    A host, of golden daffodils;
    Beside the lake, beneath the trees,
    Fluttering and dancing in the breeze.
    Continuous as the stars that shine
    And twinkle on the Milky Way,
    They stretch’d in never-ending line
    Along the margin of a bay:
    Ten thousand saw I at a glance,
    Tossing their heads in sprightly dance.
    The waves beside them danced; but they
    Out-did the sparkling waves in glee:
    A poet could not but be gay,
    In such a jocund company:
    I gazed — and gazed — but little thought
    What wealth the show to me had brought:
    For oft, when on my couch I lie
    In vacant or in pensive mood,
    They flash upon that inward eye
    Which is the bliss of solitude;
    And then my heart with pleasure fills,
    And dances with the daffodils.

    By William Wordsworth

  2. tanyakyi says:

    I had to dig out my Norton Introduction to Poetry in order to find it, but my favorite poem of all time is Richard Hugo’s “Places and Ways to Live,” which includes the line:

    “May your favorite tree be blooming in December.”

    Except, the darned cherry trees are making me want to scratch my eyeballs out. So maybe not those ones in December, ‘kay Richard?

  3. So many poems
    So little time
    How to choose…
    Well, right now my favourite is The Highwayman by Alfred Noyes
    It reminds me of a rare happy time at school. Not too many of those, alas. But when we recited this poem I was transported into another world. I could see and feel and smell it. And lately it has been part of the inspiration for a story.
    My favourite lines are the first two:
    ‘The wind was a torrent of darkness among the gusty trees,
    The moon was a ghostly galleon tossed upon cloudy seas….’ and
    ‘The highwayman came riding, up to the old inn-door.’
    and
    ‘But the landlord’s black-eyed daughter,
    Bess, the landlord’s daughter,
    Plaiting a dark red-love-knot into her long black hair.’
    Oooooooh!!!!

Leave a Reply

