Creative Writing Classes With James McCann

James McCann is a published author of young adult fiction and a creative writing workshop leader. Author of four books, he brings fun to young people and those young at heart. Currently, he has published a series of werewolf novels called The Rancour
Chronicles (Simply Read Books) and a martial arts book, Flying Feet (Orca Book Publishers).
When he isn’t writing, he is either practicing tae kwon do or interviewing authors for his successful podcast, Authors Like Us.

Now he’s sharing his insider information on the publishing world with a creative writing class for adults. After all, writing a book is hard work, and not everyone knows what do you do if they get stuck along the way – or even once they finish it.

In this course, you will workshop five pages of your writing, get feedback on your strengths and weaknesses, identify your market, and learn how to seek out possible publishers. Come with questions, and leave with answers!

This course is perfect for adults who are in the process of writing a book, but need a little extra guidance either to get it finished or get it published.

When: Tuesday, June 22nd, from 6:30-9pm.
Where: Blue Egg Entertainment, 207 W. Hastings Street, Second Floor
Cost: $39.99 +GST

Space is limited, so sign up early.

For more info, see his website:
http://www.jamesmccann.info/James_McCann/Creative_Writing_Workshop.html

About jamesmccann

I grew up a reluctant reader, which basically means that adults thought I hated reading. Actually, though, I loved reading. I just didn't like the kind of books that adults thought I should like. I mostly read comics, and, thanks to a 3 day bus ride from Winnipeg to Kelowna that my family took every summer, I read dozens of comics. As a teen I became involved in Dungeons and Dragons, which gave me the tools necessary for story-telling. I used maps and pictures as a source of inspiration; a technique I still use today. From this I discovered a love for reading, and devoured everything fantasy. Now a resident of Vancouver, I write novels for teens. In 2005 I took on the role of VP for CWILLBC (Children's Writers and Illustrators of BC), and in 2006 I became their President. I'm still best known for my popular map-making workshop, and secondly for my ability to change reluctant readers into avid readers. My work can be seen in the Canadian Children's Book News, and on the shelves of bookstores in Canada, the US and Australia.
This entry was posted in getting published, workshops. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

