Writing with the Five Senses: Dragon Eggs!

Hatchery.Ah, the best laid plans of kids and creatures! In my ongoing attempt to coax my students to write using the five senses, I introduced a new activity this week to my creative writing class: Dragon Eggs!

We had just finished reading Jeremy Thatcher, Dragon Hatcher by Bruce Coville, so the connection was obvious. And, of course, there are plenty of eggs in my own Kendra Kandlestar books that I could point to as inspirational examples for my students.

I reminded my kids of the story of the dragon’s egg from The Box of Whispers, as well as that rather horrific setting of Queen Krake‘s hatchery in The Shard from Greeve, where hundreds of giant eggs were waiting to crack open in a massive incubator. (By the way, that’s nothing compared to the egg scene you will discover in the forthcoming Kendra book!)

Of course, it’s one thing to come up with an idea for an activity, and quite another to deliver it. I poked around the internet for some different egg-decorating techniques, and finally came up with a hybrid idea involving hot glue guns, metallic acrylic paint, and hollowed out eggs. Thankfully, I also had plenty of fairy dust left over from my Magic Potions class, so that went into my kit as well. Then, of course, I made up a worksheet and collected some photos and video clips to for extra inspiration.

You can view the results for yourself. Each student went home with his or her eggs, ready to write a story about what will happen when it hatches. What do you think? Would YOU want to be around when these enchanted eggs crack open?

Dragon Egg Making.

Dragon Egg.

Dragon Eggs.

About Lee Edward Födi

I’m a children’s author, illustrator, and specialized arts educator—or, as I like to think of myself, a daydreaming expert. I'm the author of the Kendra Kandlestar series, The Books of Zoone, and Spell Sweeper. During my free time, I'm a traveler, adventurer, and maker of dragon eggs. I live in Vancouver with my wife and son.
This entry was posted in classroom activities, literacy, workshops, writing workshops. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Writing with the Five Senses: Dragon Eggs!

  1. Jacquie says:

    Very cool idea! The eggs look great!

Leave a comment