readBC ~ Michelle Mulder

We think British Columbia is a pretty special place to live and also a great place to create wonderful children’s literature. readBC is a series of short interviews introducing our readers to our authors and illustrators and their craft. Read the complete series here.
For a list of books created and set in British Columbia, visit this page.

Michelle Mulder
Author
Region: The Gulf Islands and Vancouver Island

Where did you grow up, and does that place affect your writing?
I grew up in Port Moody, B.C., long before it became so bustling. My favourite two places were Noons Creek, which was a short walk away, and the library, which was across town. I visited the creek almost every day to watch the water move, listen to the trees whisper and smell the cedar-scented air. The library I visited once a week to check out as many books as I could carry, take them home and devour them. That love of time alone, reading and thinking has continued to this day, and I couldn’t be a writer without it.

Are any of your books set in B.C.?
Three of my books are set in Victoria, B.C., where I now live. Maggie and the Chocolate War is set in 1947, and After Peaches and Out of the Box are set in present-day.

MMulder

Where do you do your work, and/or what’s on your desk?
I work in front of a big window that looks out onto a cherry tree and garden below. I love watching the tree change throughout the seasons, and I invariably wind up including details of foliage in whatever I’m writing.

What are your favourite procrastination techniques?
Email. Cleaning the kitchen. Email. Making a snack. Fiddling with a few words in a certain line when really I need to revise the whole chapter. Email, email, and email.

If you were a B.C. fruit or vegetable, what would you be?
Great question. I think I’d be a pumpkin: big, bright, and so orange that it’s almost loud amidst the silence of a grey day. I might also be a crisp, red apple for the crunch.

To learn more about Michelle Mulder and her work, please visit her website.
This entry was posted in readBC and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

