readBC ~ Scot Ritchie

We think British Columbia is a pretty special place to live and also a great place to create wonderful children’s literature. readBC is a series of short interviews introducing our readers to our authors and illustrators and their craft. Read the complete series here.
For a list of books created and set in British Columbia, visit this page.

Scot Ritchie
Author/Illustrator
Region: Vancouver, South Coast & Lower Mainland

Where did you grow up, and does that place affect your illustration or writing?
I grew up here in Vancouver and I would definitely say my artwork is influenced by that. In just about any outdoor scene I seem to end up with mountains and an ocean. And since we have quite a few overcast days I love to draw clouds.

When did you know you wanted to write or illustrate children’s books?
Illustrating and writing children’s books has more or less been an accident for me. As a freelance illustrator you get used to doing anything and everything. As time has gone by I started to do more and more kids books. Now I am very happy to be known as a children’s book illustrator and writer.

What are you working on now?
I’m working on three books. Two are follow ups to successful books on the market now. The third is interesting because it is not necessarily going to end up as a paper book but is being done for ipad/ereader/iphone use. I’m working with Kids Can Press, Owl and Gumboot.

Where do you do your work, and/or what’s on your desk?
My office is part of my living room and I also work in my dining room. So I tend to have things out on both surfaces. If I’m busy it can get pretty messy. On my living room desk I have a lamp, a book on writing and illustrating for the children’s market and my laptop. In the dining room my table is covered with all kinds of rough drawings for various projects, a lamp, pencils, pens, a coffee mug and a cool German pencil sharpener.

If you were a B.C. fruit or vegetable, what would you be?
A nectarine.

If you could choose one superpower, what would it be?
I went to wikipedia for this. Who knew there were so many superpowers? I’d say it’s a toss up between Cross Dimensional Awareness, Prehensile/Animated Hair and good old fashioned Time Travel.

To learn more about Scot and his work, please visit his website.
This entry was posted in readBC and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

