readBC ~ Rebecca Kool

We think British Columbia is a pretty special place to live and also a great place to create wonderful children’s literature. readBC is a series of short interviews introducing our readers to our authors and illustrators and their craft. Read the complete series here.
For a list of books created and set in British Columbia, visit this page.

Rebecca Kool
Author
Region: Vancouver, South Coast & Lower Mainland

Where did you grow up and does that place affect your writing?
Travel was a big part of my early years. I was born in the USA; my father was in the service so we moved around a lot. I recall making up lots of stories (all non-fiction!) about my life, either to impress new friends or to add excitement to my life when it got boring!

Moving from one city to another has definitely affected my writing. I took my first cruise on a ship at age 5 and spent all my time above deck interviewing other passengers while my mother and sister were dealing with being seasick.

Kool

If you could take a children’s book character for ice cream, whom would you invite?
Definitely Miss Kitty, Japan’s (in)famous, wealthy feline. Kitty has parlayed her brand worldwide and I’d like to hear about her journey to stardom… and possibly pick up some pointers. Kitty-chan would definitely choose a scoop of strawberry, in a dish. Of course, she would feel it quite impolite to lick ice cream.

What’s your favourite place in B.C.?
I would have to say Long Beach, on the west coast of the Island. It’s a magical place. I have been there many times and each time I return I feel calmed and embraced by the sea. The drive to the Coast is something quite special, too.

What are you working on now?
Two mid-grade books to join Fly Catcher Boy as a ‘set’ of bilingual books. The new ones are in Spanish and French and set to launch fall 2012.

What are your favourite procrastination techniques?
Funny you should ask. Just last weekend I reorganized my bookcase. When the pressure is on I can pull out some very creative avoidance techniques.

To learn more about Rebecca and her work, please visit her website.
This entry was posted in readBC and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

