readBC ~ Shar Levine

We think British Columbia is a pretty special place to live and also a great place to create wonderful children’s literature. readBC is a series of short interviews introducing our readers to our authors and illustrators and their craft. Read the complete series here.
For a list of books created and set in British Columbia, visit this page.

Shar Levine
Author
Region: Vancouver, South Coast & Lower Mainland

If you could take a children’s book character for ice cream, whom would you invite?
The Paperbag Princess. I just love her and I love the dragon, too.

What’s a typical day like for you?
I climb over my dogs who have crawled into bed, grovel downstairs and make everyone breakfast. I then run the dogs in the woods, then head up to my office in the aerie — the fourth floor in my home. I look out into the forest, power up the computer and sort through emails, before starting real work. I stare at the computer screen and hope for some sort of epiphany about a science book. I then begin writing pithy letters to my favorite editors hoping they will commission another book. Mid afternoon I try to exercise before I begin cooking for the masses. Since I’m not a kid and I don’t have homework, I watch movies or tv at night.

What are you working on now?
I have just returned from two journalism fellowships, one to the National Center for Atmospheric Research (NCAR) in Boulder, Colorado, and the second at Woods Hole Oceanographic Inst (WHOI). I am now writing a book on Winter Science, based on research from NCAR, and I hope to be working on two books (fingers crossed) from my interviews at WHOI.

What are your favourite procrastination techniques?
Well, it’s certainly not cleaning my house! I read books or magazines like New Scientist. I sometimes play on-line video games (but not often). I shop. I hang out with Leslie and we do friend kinds of things.

If you could choose one superpower, what would it be?
If I were a superhero I’d be Wonder Woman. I love the idea of a lasso of true. The other reason is that that cartoonist who created the character was the one who invented the lie detector machine. So you have science, a woman hero and boots that are to die for.

To learn more about Shar and her books, please visit her website.
This entry was posted in readBC and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

