readBC ~ Eileen Cook

We think British Columbia is a pretty special place to live and also a great place to create wonderful children’s literature. readBC is a series of short interviews introducing our readers to our authors and illustrators and their craft. Read the complete series here.
For a list of books created and set in British Columbia, visit this page.

Eileen Cook
Author
Region: Vancouver, South Coast & Lower Mainland

If you could take a children’s book character for ice cream, whom would you invite?
Charlie Bucket from Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory. I figure Charlie might let me know how he managed to get a never-ending supply of chocolate.

What’s a typical day like for you?
I get up take the dogs for a walk and then make a cup of tea. I think about how I should get right down to work, and then I spend time reading email and surfing around the internet. Then I usually split my time between doing some new writing and the business of writing like marketing. I love the idea of having a schedule, but I find every day tends to be different depending what I’m working on and where I am in the project.

What are your favourite procrastination techniques?
I can come up with all sorts of ways to procrastinate, but my favourite is reading. There are piles and piles of books in my house and there is no better distraction than diving into a great story.

What’s your favorite place in B.C.?
My most favorite place is sitting in my backyard with a good book and my dogs running around. However, my second favorite would be anywhere near the water. Salt Spring Island or Tofino would be on the top of my list.

If you could choose one superpower, what would it be?
I think it would be wonderful to be able to fly. However I don’t want to wear a Lycra suit and a cape. I don’t think that would look very good on me. I’ll be the person flying around wearing a cardigan sweater.

To learn more about Eileen and her work, please visit her website.
This entry was posted in readBC and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

