readBC ~ Joan Stuchner

We think British Columbia is a pretty special place to live and also a great place to create wonderful children’s literature. readBC is a series of short interviews introducing our readers to our authors and illustrators and their craft. Read the complete series here.
For a list of books created and set in British Columbia, visit this page.

Joan Stuchner
Author
Region: The Vancouver, South Coast & Lower Mainland region

Are any of your books set in BC?
My book Sadie the Ballerina is set in Vancouver, but most people would not know that. In my mind the theatre where Sadie watches (and joins in) The Nutcracker was the Queen Elizabeth.

ballerina

When did you know you wanted to write children’s books?
When I realised that there were too many stories in my head and I’d better get some of them out! I think I was in my twenties at the time, but it took quite a few years before any of my stories were published as books. I’m what’s called a late bloomer.

What are you working on now?
I’m working on too many projects but at the top of my pile is a very funny dog story. I’ve been writing it for so long that both the dogs that inspired it have since passed on to doggy heaven.

Where do you do your work, and/or what’s on your desk?
I work in a very messy office in my house. My desk is piled high with papers, multi coloured paper clips, a pencil from The British Museum and a telephone.

What are your favourite procrastination techniques?
Food and cups of tea!

If you could choose one superpower, what would it be?
I’d understand how to do anything with my computer. That is a superpower isn’t it?

To learn more about Joan and her books, please visit her blog.
This entry was posted in readBC and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to readBC ~ Joan Stuchner

  1. Anne Laird says:

    I am the grandmother of 7 year old Maggie. Maggie is dyslexic. There is a huge void in children’s books for dyslexic children. The available books are boring and these children are not in the least interested in reading them. They need books that stimulate their limited reading ability are interesting, fun and exciting. Is there anyone out there who is able to write books for these children?

Leave a Reply

