readBC ~ Caroline Adderson

We think British Columbia is a pretty special place to live and also a great place to create wonderful children’s literature. readBC is a series of short interviews introducing our readers to our authors and illustrators and their craft. Read the complete series here.
For a list of books created and set in British Columbia, visit this page.

Caroline Adderson
Author
Region: The Vancouver, South Coast & Lower Mainland region

When did you know you wanted to write children’s books?
I knew when I had a child. I was already writing for adults, but as soon as I started reading to my son I thought, “Hey, kids’ books would be FUN to write!”

What is your favourite place in BC?
Nelson Island, which is on the tip of the Sechelt Pennisula. Our family has a cabin there.

Where do you work, and what’s on your desk?
I have an office in my house. Usually my desk is piled with papers, but in this picture I’ve cleaned it up to be a better example to the children of British Columbia. I have a pansy plant with a garden gnome sticking out of it, a picture of my son, a glass paperweight, a pencil holder, a dictaphone, and a cup of tea or a bowl of coffee handy at all times there.

Adderson Desk

What are you working on now?
I’m writing a novel that features my Jack Russell puppy, Mickey. I am hoping to sell lots of copies of the book and pay for her vet bills with it.

If you could take a children’s book character for ice cream, whom would you invite?
I would take Mr. Putter, from Cynthia Rylant’s series “Mr. Putter and Tabby”. I choose him because I think Tabby would follow us all the way, twitching his tail grumpily. I will have to leave Mickey at home.

To learn more about Caroline and her books, please visit her website.
This entry was posted in readBC and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

