readBC ~ Silvana Goldemberg

We think British Columbia is a pretty special place to live and also a great place to create wonderful children’s literature. readBC is a series of short interviews introducing our readers to our authors and illustrators and their craft. Read the complete series here.
For a list of books created and set in British Columbia, visit this page.

Silvana Goldemberg
Author
Region: The Vancouver, South Coast & Lower Mainland region

Where did you grow up, and does that place affect your writing?
I grew up in Argentina, in a small town very similar to Steveston, where I live now. The places where I’ve lived and traveled to, the people I’ve met here and there and the books I’ve read all affect my writing.

What is one piece of advice about creating children’s books?
To create children’s books:
1) Read as many children’s books as you can.
2) Play with children as much as you can.
3) Keep your childhood alive.
And 4) Enjoy life through your own child eyes.

What are you working on now?
I’m working on a play and on a few short stories for children, on a novel for youths, on a novel for adults, on an anthology of jokes, etc.

Where do you do your work?
I’m going to tell you a secret: I have my computer for writing in the family room beside the kitchen so I can organize the house and my family as I write. I even use for writing the 10 minutes that I have from the time when dinner is ready until my family comes to the table.

What’s your favourite place in BC?
I have a crush on the lakes.

To learn more about Silvana and her work, please visit her website.
This entry was posted in readBC and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to readBC ~ Silvana Goldemberg

  1. Darlene says:

    Great interview! I love the advice for creating children’s stories and your clever use of time Silvana. Keep writing! Darlene Foster

Leave a Reply

