readBC ~ PJ Sarah Collins

We think British Columbia is a pretty special place to live and also a great place to create wonderful children’s literature. readBC is a series of short interviews introducing our readers to our authors and illustrators and their craft. Read the complete series here.
For a list of books created and set in British Columbia, visit this page.

PJ Sarah Collins
Author
Region: The Vancouver, South Coast & Lower Mainland region

What’s a typical day like for you?
A typical day for me is to bike with my two school-aged children to our neighbourhood school where I teach Grade 2/3, take someone to soccer practice (my turn is Thursday night), read stories aloud at bedtime, and write my own while the kids are in bed.

What are you working on now?
I am currently working on the final edit for a YA piece that will be published in Spring 2011 and writing a teacher guide for a picture book due out in September 2011.

Where do you do your work and/or what’s on your desk?
I work at the kitchen table on my laptop. My desk at school is very organized, usually with the inbox empty, everything marked before I go home. My desk at home looks like a mound of chaos (hence the kitchen table).

What are your favourite procrastination techniques?
I get up, wash dishes, fold laundry, then put on the kettle for another cup of cold tea.

What’s your favourite place in BC?
I love road trips on the Crowsnest Highway and how each bend in road brings a new surprise: Fernie, Creston, Nelson… what a delight! I also enjoy sweet times with my family at my mom’s place in Robert’s Creek on the Sunshine Coast.

To learn more about Sarah and her work, please visit her blog.
This entry was posted in readBC and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

