readBC ~ Tanya Lloyd Kyi

We think British Columbia is a pretty special place to live and also a great place to create wonderful children’s literature. readBC is a series of short interviews introducing our readers to our authors and illustrators and their craft. Read the complete series here.
For a list of books created and set in British Columbia, visit this page.

Tanya Lloyd Kyi
Author
Region: The Vancouver, South Coast & Lower Mainland region

What’s a typical day like for you?
My typical days involve running after small children, hosting playdates, and trying to figure out what the heck to cook for dinner. I do manage to eke out some writing time, though — during preschool hours, in the evenings, or even at the coffee shop located conveniently next door to my son’s art class. In a “writing emergency,” I’ve been known to actually PAY my six-year-old to play with my four-year-old. Rates are steep, though!

What are you working on now?
I’m revising a young adult novel, and in the thick of a new middle-grade science book. That’s a fairly typical arrangement for me — a main course of non-fiction with a bit of fiction on the side.

Kyi_AuthorPhoto

Where do you do your work and/or what’s on your desk?
I work at a beautifully carved rosewood desk given to me by my mother-in-law. I don’t have my own writing room (maybe one day!), but I do have a cozy corner. Right now, my desk is adorned by a new pen holder, decorated with paper grass and flowers and given to me for Mother’s Day.

What are your favourite procrastination techniques?
I can get lost on-line for hours. I find that if I open my work files before I start surfing, then the writing pulls me in sooner rather than later… usually.

What’s your favourite place in BC?
Kootenay Lake. Summer. An almost-deserted beach. A good book.

To learn more about Tanya and her work, please visit her blog.
This entry was posted in readBC and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to readBC ~ Tanya Lloyd Kyi

  1. Pingback: Lake time | Tanya Lloyd Kyi

Leave a Reply

