What Writers Read: Margriet Ruurs

What do children’s writers and illustrators read in their spare time? In this series of interviews with B.C. book folks, we discuss everything from guilty reading pleasures to the best literary villains. If you’d like to share some favourites of your own, please leave a comment!

Margriet Ruurs

What books are on your end table right now?

Huge piles:

  • The Bite of the Mango, which I just finished. Everyone should read this true story by a new Canadian girl from Sierra Leone.
  • The Crazy Man, a novel in verse by Pamela Porter which won the GG award.
  • The Tree, a new book by Barbara Reid, to read with my 2 year old grandson.
  • A Gardening Handbook, which I put on my table every winter in hopes of planning my garden for spring, which I never do because I keep reading more than planning.
  • A book about the importance of libraries called The Book Is Overdue by Marilyn Johnson and
  • Letters from the Past, A Memoir of Discovery, by Helen Wilkes. This lady was a guest in my booklovers’s B&B (Between The Covers) and gave me a copy of her book. It looks great.

Where is the best place to curl up with a good book?
Anywhere, really. I love reading in my big leather chair next to a crackling fireplace, cup of hot chocolate or a glass of wine within reach. But I will curl up in my car in the ferry line-up, in a big hotel bed, on a foamie on the floor, in my hammock under the flowering kiwis, anywhere — as long as it’s a good book.

Screen Shot 2011-10-31 at 2.28.12 PM

If you could have dinner with three writers or illustrators, whom would you choose?
Assuming they can be dead or alive, around my table I would invite J.K. Rowling, Mark Twain and Dr. Seuss. What a conversation that would be!

What series did you read growing up?
I had a wonderful series of novels by a Swedish author named Martha Sandwall-Bergstrom, about a poor girl named Astrid. She lived in a small cottage and worked hard. They were so poor that they had to go gathering in the forest. I just LOVED those books and pretended it was MY life.

Do you have a guilty reading pleasure?
I don’t read forbidden, erotic novels if that’s what you’re looking for! But I do feel guilty nibbling on dark chocolate while I read. But should I?

To learn more about Margriet Ruurs, please visit her website.

This entry was posted in What Writers/Illustrators Read and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to What Writers Read: Margriet Ruurs

  1. Darlene says:

    This is great, I love to hear what other writters are reading. Now I have some more books to add to my TBR list.

Leave a Reply

