What Writers Read: Deborah Hodge

What do children’s writers and illustrators read in their spare time? In this series of interviews with B.C. book folks, we discuss everything from guilty reading pleasures to the best literary villains. If you’d like to share some favourites of your own, please leave a comment!

Deborah Hodge

What books are on your end table right now?

Hunger Journeys by Maggie DeVries
Steve Jobs: A Biography by Walter Isaacson
A Storm Called Katrina by Myron Uhlberg
When Bob Met Woody: The Story of Young Bob Dylan by Gary Gollo
Half Blood Blues by Esi Edugyan

(and many more… I never like to run out of reading material.)

Who’s your favourite author/illustrator of all time?
My favourite children’s author is Roald Dahl. My favourite author/illustrator is William Steig. I am also a big Bill Peet fan.

What’s the best place to curl up with a good book?
I like to settle into a rocking chair in my office, with my feet up on a footstool. There are bookshelves on the walls behind me and a little electric fireplace that keeps me warm in the winter. It’s like being in my own private library.

D. Hodge, reading

Who is your favourite literary villain?
Joss Merlin, the landlord of Jamaica Inn, in the book Jamaica Inn by Daphne Du Maurier. He’s terrifying!

If you could have dinner with three writers, whom would you choose?
Emily Bronte, Daphne Du Maurier and Thomas Hardy. We would meet in Cornwall, by the sea, on a misty, gloomy day.

To learn more about Deborah and her work, please visit her website.
This entry was posted in just for fun, What Writers/Illustrators Read and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to What Writers Read: Deborah Hodge

  1. Jacquie says:

    I’d like to meet there, too!

Leave a Reply

