What Writers Read: Gina McMurchy-Barber

What do children’s writers and illustrators read in their spare time? In this series of interviews with B.C. book folks, we discuss everything from guilty reading pleasures to the best literary villains. If you’d like to share some favourites of your own, please leave a comment!

Gina McMurchy-Barber

What books are on your end table right now?
Three of the books I have in mind to read next are: George Johnson’s War, by Maureen Garvie and Mary Beaty; The Adventures and Sufferings of John R. Jewitt, written by John R. Jewitt in 1824; and Unsung Heroes of the RCAF by Cynthia Faryon. All are history related, which is my favourite subject. And all have something to do with topics that I want to write about one day.

Who’s your favourite author?
A few of my favourite children’s authors include: Madeleine L’Engle, who wrote A Wrinkle in Time; Christopher Paul Curtis, who wrote Bud, Not Buddy and other great stories; and Lois Lowry, who wrote The Giver series. I also really love Harper Lee for writing the classic To Kill a Mockingbird.

Where is the best place or time to curl up with a good book?
The best time to read a book is at night, when it’s cold and windy outside, but warm and cozy in my bed.

If you could have dinner with three writers whom would you choose?
I’d really enjoy having dinner with Jack Hodgins, a great Canadian author who lives on Vancouver Island; American mystery author Ridley Pearson; and Susan Eloise Hinton, who at the age of 16 wrote the classic novel, The Outsiders.

Are you more likely to be caught reading a zombie novel or a sentimental romance?
I will never be caught reading a zombie novel… I hate being scared and avoid it at all costs. So there is a much greater possibility I’d be caught reading a romance novel. And I confess here and now that when I was a teenager I loved reading Harlequin Romances — though I can’t remember a single one now.

To learn more about Gina and her work, please visit her website.
This entry was posted in just for fun, What Writers/Illustrators Read and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

