More Book Trailer Heaven

I’ve posted links to children’s book trailers before on this blog and couldn’t resist adding this one for Lemony Snicket’s new book, Who could that be at this hour?

I love animated children’s book trailers. They often use simple cut-out animation, moving the book illustrations with such transparently naive effect that the link to the printed book remains very strong and there is never any doubt that the moving images come from book art. I find this naive style utterly charming and often very funny.  I’ve noticed that great music and professional narration is key and that it’s the sound that adds the magic to book trailers (and book apps!). The Guardian’s children’s book section has a regular feature called Trailer Blazers which is fun to check on from time to time. I’ve also started my own collection of favourites – you can see my youtube playlist  here.

This year I started doing animation with the (relatively) inexpensive software, Anime Studio so I could make a trailer for Tradewind Books’ NutzTradewind supplied me with the tiff files of Christina Leist’s black and white illustrations, which I cut up and tinted in phototshop before opening the files in the animation software.  Pushing the play button and watching your art move just makes you scream and laugh. When I invited Christina Leist and Elisa Gutierrez over to make little animations of their own work, I was very amused to see their reactions to the play button were the same as mine.

Teachers, librarians, and children love animated book trailers too. In schools, they often show them on the smart board to introduce a new book. When I show my animations during my school presentations, it’s wonderful to hear the kids laugh and shout “Again!”

If you’d like to learn more about my journey in animation and apps you can go to my company site,  Rascal Media.

About Cynthia Nugent

Children's book author/illustrator, animator, founder of Rascal Media, MA in children's literature
This entry was posted in apps & ebooks, art, book trailers, film/TV/radio and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to More Book Trailer Heaven

  1. Jacquie says:

    Enjoyed this, Cynthia! (and it sounds like you are having fun!)

Leave a Reply

