Starting Points: Darlene Foster discussing Amanda in England: The Missing Novel

An ongoing series wherein CWILL BC writers and illustrators connect a picture or an item to one of their books.

040_16

I’m not morbid but I’ve always loved graveyards. When other children played games and sports during summer holidays, my aunt and I would hang out in graveyards. We would pack a picnic lunch and spend a good part of the day wandering around the headstones of the local cemetery, reading the names, dates and epitaphs; creating stories about the people who had passed on. Now, wherever I travel, I never pass up an opportunity to visit a local graveyard; the older the better. My husband doesn’t understand this fascination, but graciously complies.

During a visit to the Isle of Wight, I came across this wonderful old graveyard in Newport and knew immediately it had to be featured in Amanda in England – The Missing Novel. It contained a unique assortment of old, worn gravestones in a seemingly tranquil setting with plenty of big old trees for people to hide behind with watchful eyes. I decided right then that part of the next book would be set on the Isle of Wight, since that’s where I found the perfect graveyard.

When intrepid traveler Amanda Ross discovers a vintage book missing from a collection on the Isle of Wight, she is determined to find out who stole it. Follow Amanda through cobblestone streets, spooky graveyards, medieval castles and underground tunnels in her quest to find the missing novel!

perf5.060x7.810.indd

Amanda in England: The Missing Novel
by Darlene Foster released September 2012 by Central Avenue Publishing

This entry was posted in books/writing, novels, Starting Points, writing process and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Starting Points: Darlene Foster discussing Amanda in England: The Missing Novel

  1. Karen Autio says:

    Oh, I understand your fascination with epitaphs on tombstones and the resulting imagined histories and stories. I’ve done the same. Your book’s combination of cobblestones, graveyards, castles, tunnels, and a missing book have me intrigued!

  2. I love old graveyards too because they tell a story.

  3. Pingback: December 2013 BCATW Buzz

Leave a Reply

